Gun Culture 2.0 and the Changing Face of Gun Owners in America

I was fortunate to be asked to present on “Guns in America” at the annual conference of the Outdoor Writers Association of America yesterday (6 October 2021). I discussed “Gun Culture 2.0 and the Changing Face of Gun Owners in America.”

I was fairly certain that the presentation would not be recorded, so before I left for Jay, Vermont I recorded an abbreviated (15 minute) version of my talk from my basement studio and uploaded it to YouTube.

In the talk I briefly review the concept of Gun Culture 2.0 then discuss its implications for the changing face of gun owners in the United States.

Gun owners are becoming more diverse because Gun Culture 2.0 is more inclusive than Gun Culture 1.0. It is more inclusive because the self-defense at the core of Gun Culture 2.0 is a universal concern. I document this using national data on gun owners and show that the trend that has been developing over a number of years was amplified during the Great Gun Buying Spree of 2020+.

I appreciate your taking a moment to watch the video. If you find this and the other work I do of value, please give the video a thumbs up on YouTube and share it through your own networks.

Published by David Yamane

Sociologist at Wake Forest U, student of gun culture, tennis player, racket stringer (MRT), whisk(e)y drinker, bow-tie wearer, father, husband. Not necessarily in that order.

10 thoughts on “Gun Culture 2.0 and the Changing Face of Gun Owners in America

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.