Light Over Heat #30: Overview of My Work on American Gun Culture

This is my 30th consecutive weekly episode of “Light Over Heat”! Because I am seeing more people watching these videos coming from outside my existing social networks, I thought I would celebrate #30 by giving a brief overview of my approach to American gun culture and highlight a few of my key works for those interested.

Thanks for dedicating a bit of your valuable time to engaging my thoughts. I deeply appreciate it.

The three main works I point to in this video are:

My 2017 article “The Sociology of US Gun Culture.”

My 2021 book chapter “Understanding and Misunderstanding America’s Gun Culture.”

My 2022 article “Gun Culture 2.0: The Evolution and Contours of Defensive Gun Ownership in America.” A link to a pre-print of this article is forthcoming!

HERE is a more complete bibliography and videography of my major works on guns and gun culture.

New “Light Over Heat” videos are released on YouTube every Wednesday, so please surf over to my YouTube channel and SUBSCRIBE to follow, RING THE BELL to receive notifications, and SHARE so others can learn about this work.

Published by David Yamane

Sociologist at Wake Forest U, student of gun culture, tennis player, racket stringer (MRT), whisk(e)y drinker, bow-tie wearer, father, husband. Not necessarily in that order.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.