“The Experience at the Range Was Far More Cathartic Than I Had Initially Imagined” (Fall 2023 Student Range Visit Reflection #5)

This is the fifth of several student gun range field trip reflection essays from my fall 2023 Sociology of Guns seminar (see Reflection #1, Reflection #2, Reflection #3, and Reflection #4). The assignment to which students are responding can be found here. I am grateful to these students for their willingness to have their thoughts shared publicly.

Sociology of Guns student at range field trip, Fall 2023. Photo provided by student.

By Isabella Montero

I had never once handled a firearm until I enrolled in this class. Growing up in the North, guns were not a part of my upbringing, and the very concept of owning one didn’t enter my world until I moved to the South. My parents strongly opposed firearms, which meant they were never present in our household. However, after relocating to the South, I became much more aware of the prevalence of guns in many homes.

I decided to take this class to gain a broader understanding of the widespread attitudes toward guns across the nation. The visit to the shooting range was a pivotal moment that allowed me to engage in informed discussions about firearms, armed with the experience of shooting one myself. If you had told me six years ago that I would be visiting a gun range for a class, I would have been uneasy. Nevertheless, my curiosity grew as I embraced the opportunity with the necessary knowledge and training.

The experience at the range was far more cathartic than I had initially imagined. This revelation surprised me, considering the negative associations with guns instilled in me during my childhood and the inherent risks they pose. Only when I took a trip to the range myself did I appeal of regular visits to a range. This field trip allowed me to gain a profound appreciation for the safety measures and precautions in place when handling firearms and the significance of adhering to these safety protocols.

I believe that more widespread and strict enforcement of these safety precautions would significantly change the negative perception surrounding firearms. While many responsible gun owners prioritize safety, recent events involving firearms have highlighted the lack of precaution exhibited by others.

Another aspect that struck me as surprising was the speed at which I could shoot rounds. While handling the AR-15, I shot ten rounds in what felt like a mere matter of seconds. This experience served as a stark reminder of the potential lethality of these firearms. Despite firing at a paper target during my time at the range, I realized that I had momentarily lost sight of these weapons’ true capacity and destructive potential. It was an eye-opening experience to recognize that the thirty rounds I had fired [from 3 different guns] had the potential to take a life, yet it was so easy. This experience served as a poignant reminder of the responsibility of handling such powerful tools.

While growing up is the time for your parents to shape you and your beliefs, this trip to the Veterans Range in Mocksville allowed me to have the ability to form my own opinions on guns and using them recreationally. It taught me that shooting can be fun and a productive way to relieve stress using proper safety precautions. I found this trip extremely informative, with concrete knowledge and practical experience. It also allowed me to be able to participate in discussions while having a solid foundation on how guns are used as a pastime. 

Published by David Yamane

Sociologist at Wake Forest U, student of gun culture, tennis player, racket stringer (MRT), whisk(e)y drinker, bow-tie wearer, father, husband. Not necessarily in that order.

9 thoughts on ““The Experience at the Range Was Far More Cathartic Than I Had Initially Imagined” (Fall 2023 Student Range Visit Reflection #5)

  1. You know, with all the bad press young people get these days it’s really encouraging to see people like Isabella open to trying things like this class and the range trip, and really trying to understand and form their own opinions about a topic like firearms. Regardless of where she comes down on the topic in the end, it feels like it’s not just lip service.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.